top of page

A Year In Review

Updated: Jan 11, 2020

2018 was a year of embracing change.


It is so crazy to think about everything that happened in a year! Going into 2018, I trusted my gut and got rid of things and people I believed no longer served me. I lost some friends, but became best friends with my grandparents, cousins, and parents. I lived my best life as a college student, graduated, and then got forced into adulthood real quick. I moved across the country and fell in love with my new home. I found a full-time job and did not become the lady boss I had hoped to become, but instead I became a part of a team that inspires creativity and pushes me beyond my fullest potential. I gave up my dancing shoes as a performer, and took the stance from the other side as a coach. I continued to make my heart happy by traveling, being a mentor, volunteering, making new friends, and finding love in the most unexpected way (with the sweetest man in the world). I learned who I am without everything that I thought previously defined me: dance team, academics, my friend group, my sorority, etc. I also learned the importance of God's strength and His perfect timing, how to love myself including my deepest insecurities, and most importantly how to love others.


Something I implemented in 2018 was constructing monthly intentions for myself. This helped me focus in on what was most important in my life at that moment. Many of the things I would list were daily habits that I was seeking to maintain or grow in; however, the goal was not to obtain perfection, but to make steady progress, and in months where there was not much progress, I would try to give myself grace and start again the next month.


Summary of my 2018 Intentions:

Love myself more: including my insecurities

Be responsible for creating my own happiness

Perform random acts of kindness daily

Spend more time strengthening my relationship with Christ

To trust in the uncertainty

Keep a gratitude journal and write (3) things I am grateful for each day


My plan for growth in 2019:

I will continue to write personal monthly intentions, but for 2019 I want my main priority to be: to love like Jesus. Why? Because I believe it insures that I am following the best way to live. When we love like Jesus we are lifted outside ourselves. We shed self-interest. His band of love sees beyond the normal range of human vision-over walls of resentment and barriers of betrayal.


When we love like Jesus we rise above petty demands and snobbish entitlement. We loosen out tightfisted anxiety and relax in a surplus of benevolence. Most of all, Jesus’ model of love inspires our spirit to transcend who we are tempted to settle for.

My whole quest through 2018 taught me loving like Jesus is more attainable than I could have ever imagined. I found his teaching and example reveal at least five distinct and practical qualities of His love:

  1. Become more mindful - less detached

  2. Become more approachable - less exclusive

  3. Be more graceful - less judgmental

  4. Become more bold - less fearful

  5. become more self-giving– less self-absorbed

I’m dedicating my 2019 to love like Jesus, and I invite you to create your own personal monthly intentions; especially if you are feeling down or if you are not in a great place going into 2019. Don’t stress about it, sometimes the best things are unexpected! Lets make 2019 the best year yet!


Xoxo

-Cami



0 comments
bottom of page